Contests and Acceptances

Right off, I need to mention this: WD 10th Free “Dear Lucky Agent” Contest.

I found this contest on Twitter. Part of the requirement is that a contestant mention this contest on two social networks or in a blog. It’s such an awesome contest, that I’m mentioning it three times. Plus, I think Ellie’s Elephants is such an awesome upmarket novel book that it has a shot of winning. Fingers and knees crossed.

Last night, the sky turned such a strange yellow before and during a thunderstorm that Husband thought it might be a harbinger of a tornado. As far as we know, no tornado occurred. Usually, I’d rely on the local NPR station to tell me, but they are in the middle of a failing pledge drive. Apologies to Mr. Tuttle and Mark Scott, but this recent merge blows. I can no longer support something that I don’t bother to listen to anymore. No blues=no pledge.

On my calendar, I have a notation that the results of something were to be announced on 1 May. I can not figure out what though, so I’ll take it as a “I didn’t win.”  I did get an acceptance though after quite a dry spell. I got a holiday! Every Day Fiction is publishing “Pinging” on 28 May 2012–Memorial Day.  When I found out, I went to Zoetrope to thank Mary Akers and Kim Chiquee. It was at their workshop where I wrote the piece.

The first game of croquet was played. Husband is sadistic with a course–as bad as, if not worse than Niece’s courses.  I mean, going across a ditch to the pole? That’s just sadistic. It was a great, fun weekend though.

I’ve got more submissions to prep and I “ought” to put in some more time on the pilates mat, so I’ll bid you adieu. Have a great two weeks!

 

*These are just my Creekside Reflections. Your experiences may vary.

