Happy National Poetry Day!

I refuse to get my hopes up about this upcoming trip. I mean, I go down to Pennsylvania thinking that I’ll stay away from the internet, then I veg out watching ancient Youtube clips that I never got around to seeing before. This weekend, I have no idea how isolated from the web I’ll be. If I’m desperate (let’s hope not) I could painfully use my terrorist network phone to check my email–if I remember to buy a minute phone card thingy, and my password, but I’m hoping that I can just let it go–be internet free–remind myself that even though I am addicted, I did go a few years without checking Facebook and Duotrope every half hour.

On Zoetrope I’m looking forward to the celebration thread this week. I kicked butt! 14 submissions this week and one rejection–though I’m writing this at 9:30 p.m. the night before check-in so that’s subject to change. Last count: 65 things are out! Yes! That is a record, I believe. I’ve been vacillating between setting a new goal and not. The problem is progression and acceptances. As I was lamenting to a friend in a letter, I had accepted Marko Fong’s challenge to get 50 things out–just about this time last year(?) and I did. Now, left to my own devices, I’m pondering if I should shoot for 100 or be staid and easy on myself with 75. I just don’t know.

~~~~~~~~~~
Unbelievably, I woke up and after checking the sites out, I still have 65 things out. At least 5 pieces are either ‘under consideration’ or ‘in progress’ — minor steps up from ‘received’ to be sure, but further along than what they were. And one place I sent a piece to listed a one day rejection on Duotrope giving me hope that my piece is in the running (or I forgot to hit send.)

*Sigh*  Waiting is unnerving.

There is a rather lengthy list of things I should be getting done, but I haven’t had enough coffee yet, and it’s cold. I don’t know how low the temperature got last night, but there wasn’t a frost though I covered the pepper plants–the tomatoes were left to their fate. That is still on my list. Tomatoes. I’ve grown so many this year.

So, I’m off to pack and consider a few days away from the computer. I’m looking forward to seeing people who are a part of my family that I miss. So the Cleveland trip never worked out–this is better. A wedding–who knows what stories this will inspire. I hope it does, too. Nano is fast approaching and I have a vague concept for my novel, but that’s all.

*Sigh* NaNo…Again. So flippin’ soon.

Happy National Poetry Day to all!

